County Tyrone Pensioners Parliament in Cookstown PDF Print E-mail

Friday 30 March 2012

Chairman of Cookstown District Council, Cllr Sean Clarke, is pictured with Age Sector Platform Chairperson Patricia Donald, and County Tyrone pensioners Paddy Coyle, Iris Moffett-Scott, Lily Coleman and Raymond McGarvey.

Around 50 older people from across County Tyrone gathered in the Glenavon House Hotel in Cookstown yesterday for the final local Pensioners Parliament in Northern Ireland.  The County Tyrone pensioners in attendance discussed and voted on issues such as energy prices, health and social care, community safety and transport.

During the Parliament, an expert panel was on hand to answer any questions, which included: Paul Wallace from NEA, Brian Serplus and Roisin Doyle from Northern HSC Trust, Liam Bradley representing Community Pharmacy NI, Ryan Simpson from the Consumer Council, Gavin Hamilton from DRD, Caroline Maguire from Rural Community Network and Joe Keys and Raquel Robinson from PSNI.

The Parliament also offered pensioners the opportunity to question local politicians – a brand new feature of the parliaments this year.  The political panel at the County Tyrone Pensioners Parliament included: Ian McCrea MLA (DUP), Patsy McGlone MLA (SDLP) and Sandra Overend MLA (UUP).

To view more photographs from the County Tyrone Pensioners Parliament, please click HERE.



terms and conditions : privacy policy