County Derry/Londonderry Pensioners Parliament in Coleraine PDF Print E-mail

Friday 23 March 2012

Deputy Mayor of Coleraine Cllr William A.King with pensioners from across County Derry/Londonderry - L-R: Naresh Jairath, Thelma Dillan, Michael Monaghan (Chair of NI Pensioners Parliament), Cllr William A.King, Martin McCartney, Indu Jaresh, Renee McClelland and Sabine Jones.

Over 50 older people from across County Derry/Londonderry gathered in the Lodge Hotel in Coleraine this week for the penultimate local Pensioners Parliament in Northern Ireland.  The County Derry/Londonderry pensioners in attendance discussed and voted on issues such as energy prices, health and social care, community safety and transport.

During the Parliament, an expert panel was on hand to answer any questions, which included: Pat Austin from NEA, Melanie Phillips and Roisin Doyle from Northern HSC Trust, Jackie McNeill from the Patient and Client Council, James McCaughan representing Community Pharmacy NI and Michael Lorimer from IMTAC.

The Parliament also offered pensioners the opportunity to question local politicians – a brand new feature of the parliaments this year.  The political panel at the County Derry/Londonderry Pensioners Parliament included: Adrian McQuillan MLA (DUP), John Dallat (SDLP) and David McClarty MLA (Independent).

To view more photographs from the County Derry/Londonderry Pensioners Parliament, please click HERE.




terms and conditions : privacy policy